Page 1 of 3

All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 6:51 am
by MakAtak
First, my set up:

Nikon D40
Eye-Fi Pro X2
ShutterSnitch
iPad 2 connected to Internet
iMac 24" connected to Internet

All firmware and software versions are up to date.

All components appear to be configured properly - no error messages either in Eye-Fi Center or in ShutterSnitch.

When I take my shot, nothing appears in the New Collection window.

Where do I go from here???

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:40 am
by TheBrew
Have you gone through the troubleshooting guide?

Make sure your Mac is turned off - so it can't interfere with the communication (only required for the very first pairing).

The very first time, it can take a little time for the card to find ShutterSnitch. Minutes.

A way to provoke the card to re-scan for receivers is to remove the card from the camera and plug it in again. Make sure that it's turned on so the card is powered and it should send within minutes.

Once you're over this initial wait, and the card knows about ShutterSnitch, things will be much faster.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:42 pm
by MakAtak
Thanks for the reply... yes, I went through your troubleshooting guide and I checked and rechecked settings and systems.

ShutterSnitch is open on the iPad and displays the circle with the words "No Images" in the center. But nothing is happening.

Man, this is getting me torked!

Please take a look at this screencast and see if you notice anything that may be suspect: http://escapetoboquete.com/images/eyefi/

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:02 pm
by TheBrew
Try turning off Endless memory and Geo tagging.

Then go through the Set up Eye-Fi Access guide again, enter a collection and snap a picture.

Wait for a minute or two and if nothing happens, unplug the card from your camera and put it into the card reader and get the Eye-Fi card log and attach it here. Then perhaps we can see why it's not transmitting.

Image

Also, what IP does ShutterSnitch say you've got when you enter a collection?

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:09 pm
by MadDawgJ
http://support.eye.fi/product-info/came ... /nikon/d40

There are issues with that camera and using Eye-Fi Cards, I would also try putting the camera into review mode and see if they images transfer then.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:39 pm
by MakAtak
TheBrew - Here's the log.

Hey thanks Mad Dawg - I saw that yesterday and made the adjustments. Unfortunately, that didn't do the trick.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:49 pm
by MadDawgJ
MakAtak,
How far are you from the router? Looks like you are out of range, the signal strength is really low.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:51 pm
by MakAtak
I'm using Airport Extreme and it's in another room about 20' away.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:52 pm
by TheBrew
Hi MadDawgJ - congrats on the Eye-Fi Direct Mode. WICKED fast transfers. LOVING it.

MakAtak - looks like the card can't connect to your wireless network:

[01:47] Connecting to WLAN "F8 Studio"...
[01:47] Setup WPA Supplicant
[01:47] ERP info: non-erp: false, prot: off, preamble short
[01:47] Assoc: F8 Studio, bp 100, mac 00:1b:63:2c:3f:46, c: 8, auth 4, rssi 22
[01:47] htCapInfo: 110c
[01:47] Cap: 0431
[01:48] AssocResp: Error status 0x0002, aid: ffff, error/cap: 0xfffc (Auth response timeout)
[01:48] Disconnected from WLAN (reason = 2).

Have you seen / do you know a solution to this MadDawgJ?

My guess would be to set up the card again, remove the network and then adding it again..

[update]: damn you're fast.

Re: All set up but no image transfers to ShutterSnitch??

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:00 pm
by MakAtak
While we're on the Direct Mode topic - I would really rather use it instead of going through the router.

I shoot in the field 90% of the time.

Wouldn't it be wiser for me to go DM?