How to connect Canon EOS R5

Help and ask for help on your Canon wireless file transmitter

Re: How to connect Canon EOS R5

Postby FrankM » Tue Jan 17, 2023 7:23 am

Unfortunately I have to bother you again.

After I made all the settings in the R5 (and checked it sucessfully at home), in the Iphone and Ipad I tried to use it on lacation.

I am just working during a big sport event. Here we can use a free Wifi for all the photographers. And that's the problem.

Whenever I want to connect my camera to my phone, the camera automatically selects the free wifi as connecting point. My camera access point - like I installed it - is no longer displayed.

I guess I do something wrong? :(
FrankM
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 10:46 am

Re: How to connect Canon EOS R5

Postby TheBrew » Tue Jan 17, 2023 10:19 am

I don't have an EOS R5, but it wouldn't surprise me if you initiate the connection using sets.

if so, perhaps you picked the wrong set? Each set has its own connection method, which can be joining a wi-fi network or creating a camera network.
Support the development of ShutterSnitch: Rate/review it on The App Store, Toot about it, make Youtube videos, blog about it.. Get the word out.
TheBrew
The Developer
 
Posts: 4790
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: How to connect Canon EOS R5

Postby NickC » Tue Jan 17, 2023 3:33 pm

FrankM wrote:Unfortunately I have to bother you again.

After I made all the settings in the R5 (and checked it sucessfully at home), in the Iphone and Ipad I tried to use it on lacation.

I am just working during a big sport event. Here we can use a free Wifi for all the photographers. And that's the problem.

Whenever I want to connect my camera to my phone, the camera automatically selects the free wifi as connecting point. My camera access point - like I installed it - is no longer displayed.

I guess I do something wrong? :(


I’m confused here. The CAMERA makes the access point and the phone connects to the camera. There’s no way that the camera will connect to a free access point without you telling it to. Do you mean that the PHONE is automatically connecting to the free access point and not connecting to the camera? thats very likely if you had connected the phone to the free AP in the past. You’ll need to uncheck “auto join” inside the free WiFi that the phone connects to automatically, and hopefully auto join IS checked under the WiFi that the camera makes.
NickC
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:57 pm

Previous

Return to Canon WFT / EOS 6D/70D/760D/M3/R / PowerShot wi-fi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron