Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Help and ask for help on your Nikon wireless file transmitter

Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:00 am

Image

I've been testing this unit for a month and can confirm that the A1 with a D4 is working reliably in this setup:
- iPhone5 ios6 hotspot provides the wifi network
- A1 connects to this hotspot, which is connected to the D4 via standard ethernet cable
- Shuttersnitch iPad or Macbook/laptop running FTP/SFTP server is connected to hotspot
- Images cropped and IPTC metadata added via Photogene
- Uploaded to net using Photogene to Dropbox/Twitter/FB

The HAME MPR-A1 also works and is quite a bit smaller than the Zalip:
http://www.hametech.com/html/product/view2-31-45.html
it's available on ebay for around $25:
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid= ... &_from=R40

Here's another view:
Image
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:26 am

Hi syd

Nice device and smaller then the zalip which is always good. I'm wondering if the A1 requires a hotspot device such as the iPhone to work? I only need to have my D4 transmit to SS on my iPad. I have no need to send them over the Internet. I use the zalip and d4 in an ad hoc network so no need for a hotspot. Though I do have an iPhone I believe you have to pay att to use the hotspot function on the iPhone.

Thanks,
Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:01 am

You can connect to the hotspot generated by the HAME. No need for the iphone hotspot if you're just moving images from the camera to the phone.
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:45 am

Hi syd

I've received the HAME-A1 but the instructions are all in Chinese but I've found an english version online. The default password "admin" does not work. I'm thinking the router only speaks Chinese. I'm wondering if you speak Chinese or is there a way to make the router work or did a by the wrong form of the devise? I bought it on ebay.

Thanks for any help ,
Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:24 am

syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:11 am

thanks syd. Worked

Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby msatter » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:31 pm

msatter
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 10:38 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:53 pm

A nice video review/tutorial here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z73NNcyo9yI
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:33 am

Hi
I'm very ignorant when talking networking so I'm hoping syd or anyone may help me set up a static ip on the HAME -A1. I trial and erred it on the zalip and got it but can't on the HAME. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. It's a pain to keep switching the D4 to a new ip every time I use the HAME.

BobM.
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:18 pm

vetguy wrote:Hi
I'm very ignorant when talking networking so I'm hoping syd or anyone may help me set up a static ip on the HAME -A1.

I'm not sure you want to setup a static IP for the HAME - what are you trying to do with it? What's the setup you've got.
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Next

Return to Nikon WT / WU-1a / WU-1b / Nikon built-in Wi-Fi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron