Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Help and ask for help on your Nikon wireless file transmitter

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:14 pm

Hi syd

Thanks for the reply.

I only use the hame to transfer pics to my iPad so I can view them on a larger screen then mirror to Apple TV. I want a static ip so I don't have to change the last digit on the ip address on the D4 each time I start the network up. On the Zalip I entered the MAC address and the ip I wanted and checked an enable box and my ip never changed.
Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:20 pm

Bob,
The HAME doesn't have an ability to set a static IP address for the iPad. However, I've found that when it has been assigned a DHCP address it has been stable across restarts. Are you seeing that it is being given different addresses when you reconnect to the HAME wifi?
Syd
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:01 am

Hi syd

The IP address fluctuates the last single digit often usually assigns 2 or 3. Not a big deal just an irritation but beats paying 600$ for the elegance of the wt-5.

Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:42 am

Bob, you might be able to set up a static route.
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby vetguy » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:32 pm

Thanks syd I'll look into it and try to figure it out how to do a static route. I guess for most it's not an issue changing the ip. It must be my naturally lazy nature haha.

Bob
vetguy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby Nitrofish » Thu May 23, 2013 8:30 am

Hi Syd,

can you tell me what kind of cable you are using to connect the MPR-A1 to the camera?
On your picture it looks like a special ethernetcable???

Holger
Nitrofish
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:17 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Thu May 23, 2013 9:10 am

Nitrofish wrote:Hi Syd,
can you tell me what kind of cable you are using to connect the MPR-A1 to the camera?
On your picture it looks like a special ethernetcable???
Holger

I use a standard ethernet cable. The one in the picture has a 90 degree connector so it doesn't stick out. Nothing special.
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby Nitrofish » Sat May 25, 2013 3:40 pm

Hi Syd,
thanks for your answer.

i received my A1 and i connected the D4 to SS on my iPad with it.
But the connection is not stable.
The Camera didnt transmitt continuously the pictures to SS.
Sometimes only one, somtimes more.
Did you ever hear anything about this problem?
I started the Traffic Inspector from SS an saw this Log below, but the picture is available in the D4.

Kind regards
Holger

Traffic Inspector
16:10:55.334 FTP: Perform PORT 192,168,169,101,140,253
16:10:55.394 FTP: Reply 200 PORT command successful.
16:10:55.583 FTP: Perform TYPE I
16:10:55.629 FTP: Reply 200 Type set to I.
16:10:55.827 FTP: Perform SIZE _ND40101.JPG
16:10:55.886 FTP: Reply 550 _ND40101.JPG No such file or directory.
16:10:56.101 FTP: Perform RETR _ND40101.JPG
16:10:56.161 FTP: Reply 550 _ND40101.JPG No such file or directory.
16:10:56.372 FTP: Reply 226 Transfer complete.
16:10:56.435 FTP: Perform PORT 192,168,169,101,143,10
16:10:56.495 FTP: Reply 200 PORT command successful.
16:10:56.679 FTP: Perform QUIT
16:10:56.725 FTP: Reply 221 Goodbye
Nitrofish
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:17 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby syd » Sat May 25, 2013 11:51 pm

Nitrofish wrote:i received my A1 and i connected the D4 to SS on my iPad with it.
But the connection is not stable.


No, mine are fine. Since I need to connect to the Internet, mine also works fine with the Personal Hotspot on my iPhone and Apple Airport basestations.
syd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:56 am

Re: Alternative to WT-5 - HAME MPR-A1

Postby Nitrofish » Sun May 26, 2013 6:17 pm

Hi Syd,

now its working, i had to set the config in the D4 "Overwrite if same name" to yes.
The SS Development "TheBrew" told me that.

do you have an link where i can buy a ethernetcable like yours?
i search the internet but i cant find a cable which's short like yours with a 90 degree connector.

Thanks
Holger
Nitrofish
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 8:17 am

PreviousNext

Return to Nikon WT / WU-1a / WU-1b / Nikon built-in Wi-Fi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron