My last Eye-Fi card just unalived... now what?

Questions that don't fit into any of the other categories

My last Eye-Fi card just unalived... now what?

Postby Ranger 9 » Wed Aug 16, 2023 1:44 am

Hi, I've been using ShutterSnitch since 2010 and just (last month) paid another year of subscription, so I hope I can ask a fairly detailed question!...

For years I had a GREAT system in place that depended on ShutterSnitch, an iPad, and an Eye-Fi card. I could shoot photos with my Fujifilm camera, save the raw files on one card, and have an Eye-Fi card in the other slot push low-resolution JPEGs to my iPad as I shot. At any point I could hand the iPad to a subject or client to evaluate the shots and mark their favorites with the ShutterSnitch star ratings. If desired I could send off some quick email images or post them onto my SmugMug account from within ShutterSnitch. Later I would import the raw files into Lightroom and use the Snitch Sync plug-in to transfer my ShutterSnitch star ratings to the Lightroom files. Barring occasional janky wifi, the workflow was basically perfect.

Now, though, my last Eye-Fi card (a 32gb MobiPro) just keeled over dead -- none of my cameras recognize it and none of my cameras or computers will reformat it. So it goes into my box of dead Eye-Fi cards, mostly the older orange ones that either failed electrically or broke. The Eye-Fi company, of course, is extinct. Meanwhile, my two Transcend WiFI SD cards died years ago, and Transcend no longer supports that product line. I see it would be still possible to get Toshiba FlashAir cards on eBay if I were willing to pay $500 for one, but I'm skeptical about the viability of that option.