Simple question: Shuttersnitch WiFi vs 5G connectivity

Questions that don't fit into any of the other categories

Simple question: Shuttersnitch WiFi vs 5G connectivity

Postby WaldenKirsch » Sat Mar 09, 2024 6:02 pm

I'm a news photographer and Shuttersnitch is a dream:)
I have my system configured perfectly...it works like a champ.
Nikon Z7 + iPhone13 Pro + Shuttersnitch >> FTP up the cloud (Photoshelter).
As I shoot, i "protect" the images from a Z7 button-press I want to send to my news desk, and within a few seconds they're there. All good so far.
Here's the issue. Not sure if there's a resolution.
I currently move photo files from Z7>IOS device> Shuttersnitch app via peer-to-peer WiFi, then the IOS device takes over and uploads to the cloud via 5G.
However, when I'm at a corporate event and there are 1,000 people in the room, many/most with mobile devices on 5G, my 5G photo uploads take forever...or simply halt:( Or Shuttersnitch closes.
I -do- generally have access to a closed non-public WiFi network at these events on which there are very few users and plenty of bandwidth.
Question: is there any way to configure (or hack) my IOS/Shuttersnitch system to allow concurrent WiFi connectivity for --both-- camera>IOS --and-- internet connectivity for the leg IOS>cloud?
Just for the record: Nikon does not offer direct-from-the-camera FTP upload functionality.
Thanks for any clever potential solutions!

WaldenKirsch

Re: Simple question: Shuttersnitch WiFi vs 5G connectivity

Postby TheBrew » Sat Mar 09, 2024 6:44 pm

It is possible to add an extra network interface using the USB-C / lightning port on your phone and then use that for the exports.